Sunday, March 1, 2015

Book Review and Giveaway--> Tequila & Tea Bags by Laura Barnard

Title and Author: Tequila & Tea Bags by Laura Barnard
No. of Pages: 280
Publication Date: November 2014
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Women's Fiction
Language: English

Book Review:
Tequila & Tea Bags is the first book by Laura Barnard that I have read and I absolutely loved it. Isn't it so great when you take up a new book not knowing whether you will like it or not and then totally adore it! Same happened when I took up this book to read. I had just heard about the book from a friend, loved the colourful cover and was intrigued by the blurb so much that I wanted to check it out as soon as possible. So when Laura contacted me about reviewing the book, I jumped at the chance!

Tequila & Tea Bags is the story of Rose who just wants to enjoy Tequila shots in Mexico but is instead sent to the quaint, cozy village in Yorkshire where the favourite drink is tea! Sticking out like a sore thumb in the village, Rose's adventures take her on a journey of self-discovery, finding love and a whole new perspective to life!

Laura's writing style is simple and she uses typical Yorkshire lingo with sayings and phrases people from there will instantly recognize. I had some difficulty here since I am from India and unaware of the common terms used there but it didn't hamper my total interest and engagement in the book. I loved the vivid images the author creates in the story of the laid back village with its simple life, the tea loving people which made them dear to me since I, too, am a lover of tea and the humourous accounts of Rose's adventures here. Laura has expertly balanced humour, emotional play, romance, drama and some motivating scenarios beautifully in the book.

The events, scenarios and dialogues flow so fluidly that they created a mental picture in my mind and easily transported me to the breathtaking beauty of Yorkshire and the simplicity of the village.

The characters are admirably sketched and although, initially I didn't like Rose much but as the story progressed I came to like and understand her better. I also liked Will and Betty and am so glad I read this book. :)

All in all, Tequila & Tea Bags is a must-read, entertaining book that had me laughing, smiling, enjoying, sometimes misty eyed but eventually sighing with happiness. 4.5 out of 5 and recommended to readers above the age of eighteen because it has some sex scenes in it. Go read the book and I am sure you will love it. Laura Barnard is a talented writer and I am totally going to read the other books by her.



I received the book from the author and I am very thankful to her. The above review is my honest and unbiased opinion and in no way influenced.


~Buying Links~
Amazon US: Paperback | Kindle Ebook
Amazon IN: Paperback | Kindle Ebook
Flipkart: EBook
Amazon UK: Kindle Ebook

 Add to Goodreads

~About the Author~
My name is Laura Barnard and I am an author from Hertfordshire, UK. My first chick-lit novel, The Debt & the Doormat was an Amazon number 1 best-seller and won Best Laugh Out Loud Book of 2013. It is available via Amazon, Smashwords, iBooks. Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository and many more. 

In my spare time I enjoy drinking my body weight in tea, indulging in cupcakes the size of my face, drooling over hunks like Jamie Dornan, Ryan Gosling and Leo Dicaprio...oh and my husband of course! I like wearing yoga clothes and reading fitness magazines while I sit on the sofa and eat chocolate. I'm a real fan of the power nap and of course, READING!

I write not to get rich or famous, but because I LOVE writing. Even if one person tells me they enjoyed my book it makes the midnight typing worth it!

~Follow the Author~


~Giveaway~
This is an exclusive giveaway only for readers of Njkinny's World of Books & Stuff. Win a signed paperback copy of Tequila & Tea Bags by Laura Barnard. Open Internationally.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Receive all updates in your mailbox. Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

 
Real Time Analytics